## **Columbia FIL-AM Scholarship Program**

## **2021 Recipients**





**Emily Collins** 

LaraTijing

## A Columbia Fil-Am Youth Scholarship

**program** has been discussed often since the formation of the Association in 1991. Officially started in 2002 by the FAAGC Executive Board through the initiative of Peter Liunoras (FAAGC President, 2001-2003), the *Columbia Fil-Am Scholarship* awards are given to Fil-Am college-bound high school graduates whose families are currently paid FAAGC members and who (or their parents) have participated actively in Fil-Am activities. As specified by the Executive Board recently, current criteria are involvement in FAAGC (50%), academics (30%), and interview and essay (20%).

► unds for the scholarship program are generated from, among others, donations, raffles during FAAGC gala, Christmas and Valentine's Day events, food sales at basketball tournaments, and from 2004 to 2010, fund-raisers by the Ridge View High School (RVHS) *Fil-Am Youth Club* under the direction of Peter Liunoras. Starting in 2021, long-time member and supporter Dr. Francisco Sy has established and endowed the *Dr. Francisco S. Sy Scholarship Fund* of the FAAGC.

FAAGC presented the first *Columbia Fil-Am Scholarship* award at the 13th Annual Gala on September 13, 2003. Since then, award certificates (and checks) have been presented to deserving and qualified students every year during the annual gala or at special events. Interestingly, most of the past scholarship recipients had been *Columbia Fil-Am Cultural Dance Troupe* performers at one time or another.

## **Columbia Fil-Am Scholarship Recipients** 2021 ★ Emily Collins ★ LaraTijing **\*** Taryn Clark Brandon Edwards 2020 ★ Casey Funderburk **\*** Joy Mangaccat Ashley Rabaca ★ Julia Szoke 2019 🗙 Laurence Lafuente + Shane Clark 2018 + Jasmine Flora **\*** Alisha Rabaca Andrea Robichaud **\*** Chase Szoke 2017 ★ Dyonn Dingman ★ Diego Luis Ignacio Kathleen Arevalo ★ Roy Balacanao, Jr 2016 Joan Rose Peña ★ Denise Daquilanea ★ Severina Lowder 2015 Angelica Robichaud 2014 ★ Jonathan Jacobsen ★ Darryl Arevalo **Justine Flora** 2013 ★ Khoi Nguyen **Michael Sanchez** \* Shannin Scott **\*** Kirkwood Bautista \star Elaiza Apan 2012 Nicole Daquilanea ★ Douglas Miguel Tupas ★ Christine Arroyo ★ Karen Magsino **\*** Nicholas Roberts \* Nicole Phillips 2011 ★ Joseph Szoke III ★ Nicole Victoria **Andrew Whitmire** \* Paul Adcock **\*** Nicole Anderson 2010 ★ Fides Elamparo **Steven Do** \* Sean C.A. Tupas 2009 ★ Jessamine Cuaresma ★ Jeffrey Noble 🗙 Butch Deo Elamparo 🖌 Christian Ysmael Tupas 2008 Mark Allen Viray 2007 \* Raguel Bagnal \* Michelle Peña \* Aileen Leigh Alon \* Jasper Lim 2006 **\*** Christian Elamparo ★ Marianne Magapan ★ Fay Manapat 2005 ★ Justin Anderson \* Amanda Goyeneche **\*** Danielle Glenn 2004 + Michaela Kenworthy + Michael McNulty Judith Peña 2003 \* Raymund Elamparo



**2020 Recipients**